top of page
Search
  • peterphun

Christmas Vacation 2022

Updated: Jan 12, 2023


Sunset at Damar Permatang Laut shores in Penang Island.

Over Christmas Break which was 3 weeks long, I traveled to Penang, Malaysia to visit my mother.


When I arrived, my poor mum was still hiding behind a mask. This despite having had both doses or the vaccine and getting sick from Covid-19.


For several days after, she would still wear a mask around me because I arrived unmasked.


For many of us here in the US, the pandemic is over but sometimes that mindset takes a while to travel all over the world.


My trip to Penang took an entire day of traveling on the plane. I boarded Singapore Airlines SQ35 in Los Angeles Thursday evening around 9p, arrived 18 hours later.


I had a 3 hour wait in Singapore Changi International airport before catching my connection to Penang. Thankfully that flight was only 1 1/2 hours. So in total, I spend an entire day traveling and l lost a day arriving on Saturday because I crossed the International Dateline from west to east.


I did not intend to do much serious photography because I knew I had to travel very light and couldn't bring a lot of photography equipment based on the baggage allowance on board the aircraft.



A fisherman casts his net in the shallows near the fishing village of Damar Permatang Laut on the island of Penang.

A friendly neighborhood cat comes out to inspect a fisherman's haul from the sea. It is often rewarded by a fresh fish


But what pictures I was able to get I was very happy with my results. I met a young couple Nur Atilla and her husband Mod Syukri who turned out to be newly weds and a pretty young girl Nayli Ho.









I met some interesting characters on the streets of Penang in the Heritage area of Georgetown.


30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page