top of page
Search
  • peterphun

Spring Break Fun at Challen Hill Park

Updated: Apr 8, 2021


Over Spring Break, I attended a meetup for photographers. It was in Riverside at a Challen Hill Park, about 20 mins from where I live.


#1 Gabriela was photographed in Stetson hat under the shade. We kept things simple, she wasn’t lying on the grass. Actually she was lying on a silver car shade I brought with me.

As expected, because this event was free, there were at least 100 photographers.


That’s an insane number and there might have only been 15 or so models, so that gives you an idea of how much of a challenge this was.

All the photographers who attended wore masks but the models didn't have to since photographers practised social distancing.


At 3 pm, the sun was too high and the light was unsuitable for good pictures so a lot of the photographers just hung out getting to know the models.


After locating a suitable model and background, I planned my shoot.


Next time, I will probably not attend a free event like this because it was just too crowded.



#2 Rina in orange and barefooted was a challenge because she was mobbed by many, many photographers. I counted at least 200 photographers attended this event.

#3 Giselle with her long straight hair was a big hit. She was a good sport considering how many photographers were.

What I Might Try Next Time

Most of these might sound like excuses why I didn't get pictures that I like. But I know there is always room for improvement.


Gabriela laying down on the ground gives me an opportunity to feature her face more prominently

#1 Gabriela

I would see if I can add a prop or I might ask her to lay down so I can shoot down on her. I might also have her stand or kneel so I can have a variety of poses.


Having Gabriela kneel gives me more possibilities for different poses


#2 Rina

I might her sit on the ground for a variety of posing possibilities. But there wasn't anything I could have her sit on so her dress wouldn't get dirty.Sometimes, there is not much you can do if you don't bring props for your models so you can just work with some lighting.


This is a tighter shot of Rina to show her face and her tattooes


#3 Giselle

I would see if she could include more of her hands.

Gisselle has a very pretty face so I think I would probably get a lot closer and shoot even tighter.


Gisselle in the late evening. I need to get even closer or else shoot with a longer lens



Yanny posing by a rock at Challen Hill Park with the sun setting behind her








39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page